Desire

Published June 10, 2012 by largemargeuk

Desire has led me
to some very dark places
to some caves, in my soul
where no light ever shone.
Down some twisted back alleys
where demins lay lurking,
to some fiery hell
where the tortures roll on.

Desire has burned me
seared my flesh off
boiled my blood
into vapour and steam.
It has bitten my bones
and flayed my nerve endings
and rising to choke me
from the pit of my dreams

Made the long nights a torture
I barely endured,
sent my hands racing through me
looking to satisfy it.
Cost me friends and true lovers
and my good reputation
all because I love dancing
on the lip of the pit.

And now,in this fever
of all wanton wanting
this madness to fly
in to the kiss of the fire –
I call caress me or kill me
but don’t leave me wanting
as once more I yield
to my good friend, desire.

9 comments on “Desire

  • Leave a Reply

        wampirevatermelon

    The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

    Katherine Shirley

    A world in her own words

    Don MacIver; poetry & prose

    poetry, prose, publications; celebrating literary & creative arts

    Isolated Desolation

    We're all looking for something that can't be found

    The Weaponized Blonde

    Simple point and click interface.

    The Tennessee Rose

    Rose's Ramblings in the big old world

    Shona. In Focus.

    I've got it coming to me.

    A Small Circle of Friends

    Blogging for the well-read and ill-at-ease

    tarnation and eudemonia

    straightforward poems for straightforward people

