You Can’t Hurt Me Anymore.

Published June 25, 2012 by largemargeuk

You can’t make me feel
the darkness
that used to crowd around me
as I lay awake at night
I don’t know why
I gave you
that power. But I’m
taking it back. You can’t hurt me
anymore.

You can’t cloud my
decisions
with your memories and
thinly veiled threats.
I don’t understand
how I thought you
could do that. But you can’t
again. You can’t hurt me
anymore.

I am taking off for
the heart of the
sun and I am going to
shine and blaze.
From this moment on,
you are gone
and forgotten. My life
is now mine. You can’t hurt me
anymore.

15 comments on “You Can’t Hurt Me Anymore.

  • Cool hit, LM, I get surrounded by tiny minded power vampires daily, too. It;s all vanity and bullshit projection – and, like this poem says, it so easy to pull the plug on them!

  • Cool shit, LM, I get surrounded by tiny minded power vampires daily, too. It’s all vanity and bullshit projection – and, like this poem says, it so easy to pull the plug on them!

  • Leave a Reply

        wampirevatermelon

    The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

    Katherine Shirley

    A world in her own words

    Don MacIver; poetry & prose

    poetry, prose, publications; celebrating literary & creative arts

    Isolated Desolation

    We're all looking for something that can't be found

    The Weaponized Blonde

    Simple point and click interface.

    The Tennessee Rose

    Rose's Ramblings in the big old world

    Shona. In Focus.

    I've got it coming to me.

    A Small Circle of Friends

    Blogging for the well-read and ill-at-ease

    tarnation and eudemonia

    straightforward poems for straightforward people

